Advice on Casting Small Components in Aluminium

Bramblebush ForumsFAQ

Posted by Phil B on April 19, 1999 at 15:43:30:

I am a model engineer who has recently embarked on developing my ability to cast small components in aluminium, for building scale model internal combustion engines.

To date I have experimented with oil sand and lost wax block casting. Because of the lack of access to appropriate materials I have not experimented with ceramic shell. The oil sand give inadequate size accuracy and a surface finish that is to coarse, the lost wax block process give the necessary dimension control and finish. I suspect ceramic shell be OK for dimension control but will give to much detail as the moulds for casting the wax pattern are machined and to much details will emphasis the machining marks which would give the final cast an unrealistic appearance. I use a muffle furnace (heat treatment) for burnout and metal melting and a stainless steel crucible (no insulation, rapid heat loss).

The current problem I experience is best described by the following example:

The component is an engine time housing. The main body of which is basically a plate 0.2" thick by 2.5" by 1.5". The edge of the plate is profiled with a number of curves and lugs around the periphery. On One face of the plate, at one end, is a boss 0.2" thick with a diameter of 1.125" for housing the crank shaft bearing.

My casting attempts at present have two basic faults. Shrinkage in the casting rather than in the runners and risers. This is not presently of concern as believe the fault is relatively easy to correct by improving the sequence of cooling/solidification.