Aluminum casting properties may surprise you

ArtMetal
Bramblebush

Bramblebush ForumsFAQ

Posted by bruce paul fink on January 12, 1999 at 12:22:15:

Bernard Porter wrote:

I THINK I am getting an oxidized surface on my castings =

the surface of the aluminum is a dirty grey, (pitted and scaly - requiring removal of at least 1/16 inch) I have been using regular hardware-store plaster of paris for my cement in my investment (50/50 with flint). I'm studying your previous mails and will experiment at length in getting rid of possible hydrogen in my melts and getting the mould DRY DRY. If you'll stand still for it, I'll be back after I've experimented further.

Bernard

The Plaster Of Paris part is okay just probably much more expensive. I use the cheapest #1 moulding plaster currently @ $16 per 100 lb. It's only a binder anyway and is basically the same thing.

Did you originally mean 'aluminum' and 'bronze'? I read your post as 'aluminum bronze'. There is a great difference as aluminum bronze is a type of brass or bronze alloy and has very different characteristics from aluminum OR bronze. If you meant aluminum (as it appears to be above) there is a possible other solution to your pitting.

To the best of my understandings..(I will try to use general and condensed terms to illustrate) here is my thinker resolution. This doesn't come from an intelligent source but from many years observation and having conquered the problem so it's now pure pleasure pouring aluminum. Kind of like a mint julep on a breezy summer day vs. a bowl of Texas Chili while sitting in a sauna.

(they usually don't use meat don't you know).

Part one

The investment mold has to be dry... but that may be misleading.

As the plaster is mixed it only requires a very small amount of H2O to make it chemically set but takes a lot more to mechanically make it fluid. So when you burn out a mold you are doing several things.